Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
One book at a time
9 février 2016

The heart goes last - Margaret Atwood

heartgoeslast

pages: 308    published: 2015

Charmaine and Stan live in a society that is seemingly struggling to get back on it's feet after some kind of economic crash. Jobs are scarce, life on the street is dangerous. Everyone dreams of a better life. When Charmaine sees an advertisement for a social experiment that promises a perfect life (a safe community, jobs for everyone), she convinces Stan that this is their best hope. The key to this social experiment? An alternate lifestyle, one month of freedom and happiness and one month of living in a prison cell...

I really enjoyed this book. For my 2016 "Year in 52 books" challenge, I had to read a book on the topic of a dystopia. I learnt that this term meant "a community or society that is undesirable or frightening". Funny that I didn't know this term, because I'm actually a HUGE fan of three books in particular that fall into this category: 1984, A brave New World, Animal Farm. These are three books that I think everyone should read. I'm adding "The heart goes last" to this list.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Author
              A        B      C
                  D       E        F
             G       H       I
                  J       K        L
             M      N       O
                   P       Q       R
             S       T        U
                  V      W       X
             Y       Z
Publicité
Title
             A        B        C
                  D        E        F
             G        H       I
                  J         K       L
            M        N       O
                 P        Q       R
            S        T        U
                 V        W       X
            Y        Z
Publicité